Still here

As a reassurance for those who are kindly concerned at my long silence, I’m still here, and doing as well as can be expected.  Better than some.

Graham is doing fine, too, and has been a tower of strength to me as always.

I’ll see if I can’t get up enough steam to resume writing soon.  Meantime, thanks for sticking around…

 

32 responses to “Still here

  1. Instead of writing an essay, sign us a song…

  2. Uh, that was supposed to be “sing us a song”

  3. Glad to hear from you and that things are going as well as can be expected. Thanks for being in touch.

  4. Good to hear from you.

  5. Happy to read you are still here, and that you both are just plodding alongas one does, in these lazy days of summer.
    Be well my sweet friends !
    ~Jo

  6. Looking forward to reading more steam! Hope you feel stronger soon!

  7. ditto….
    it’s funny how much we can be connected to somebody we haven’t even met!
    thinking of both of you and wishing you well
    Kiki

  8. Thank you, John! It may sound strange but it is really a relief to know that you’re doing fine.

  9. Thank goodness you are still there. Keep ticking.

  10. Julie in California

    Thanks, John. Need the reassurance from time to time that we won’t loose you for a year or so, again. I check every day. Best of everything to you and Graham.

  11. A hearty thank-you John for writing… I can totally empathize with you there, I am having serious mobility problems myself and life is just not the same anymore – it seems that the whole world is running past me and all I can do is sit here – but thanks to the internet, my little world is a bit larger than it would have been otherwise. Best wishes to you both and (((big hugs))).

  12. It is always good to hear you are both doing “as well as can be expected.” I’d love to see more writing, but even more – I’m just glad you’re among us.

  13. Glad to read you are hanging in there. I will be waiting for your next entry.

  14. mannjust@aol.com

    Thanks for the report. Don’t like those long silences!

    Judy

  15. Miss your entries. Like the rest, glad to hear you and Graham are poddling along.

  16. John, I was so glad to see you here tonight and know that you’re both hanging in there. Feel better soon.

  17. Glad to see you’re still with us, John. I was wondering, but see Graham occasionally on Twitter, so had hopes you were just taking a little time off. {{{Hugs}}}

  18. I think we were beginning to worry to say the least. Your post does not sound particularly cheerful. I do hope you really are both okay. You are a part of so many lives, including mine.

  19. Changed computers, had memory blockage and lost your blog. So glad to know, like me, you and Graham are still chugging along John.

  20. There you are. Oh dear man, I’ve been with you and Graham through four or five houses, and no way would I not be here now. I check in several times a week. So nice to find you here this time. Bless you both. As someone said above it’s interesting how we feel connected to someone we haven’t met. But I do, and while always wishing you well I also worry now and again. It’s what friends do. The best to you always.

  21. Trevor Harvey

    POEM

    Oh John, we miss your tender words
    We miss your sparkling wit
    And which is more, and most of all
    We know you’re an old g….

    …er, grey poet, yes, that’s it, you’re an old grey poet and of course, most highly esteemed by all your old grey readers, T 🙂

  22. We are here too and miss you when you aren’t. More grey than ever, actually….

  23. Trevor Harvey

    I know you read the Harry Potter sagas avidly, John, so how does JK’s latest adult offering appeal?

  24. I found the post about being with you through a number of houses very interesting. I guess I can say that too. I remember the Aga. I remember the wonderful shelving/desk Graham built for your office. I have seen the inside of your houses and ‘been with you’ through your leg problems and finding out that Graham has Crohn’s, and here I am many hundreds of miles away in a small fishing/lobstering village in eastern Canada. As you would say, “funny old world”.

  25. Glad to see you’re writing again, John!

  26. Margie Berry, Clarion, IA USA

    Its been oh so long since you last posted and I’m just hoping that you are well and happy.

  27. Thrilled to see an entry from you, even if it’s a short one. Do pick up the “pen” again soon … I miss you, and Graham.

  28. Just popping in to keep a weather eye, John. A baking dry week in eastern England. Today, the blessing of rain. Tonight, a perfect cool zephyr is wafting. I love this time of transition. Salut to you both.

  29. Niki Hawkins

    Oh, fabulous! You are there. I hope you and Graham are well.

  30. An entire month without John is akin to a drought.

  31. Hello, dear John! Happy Birthday! 🙂

  32. Whoa! It was your birthday yesterday, John? And I missed it? I hope it was a good one, and that you celebrate all week long.